Kakheti was an independent principality from the end of the eighth century. It was incorporated into the united Georgian Kingdom at the beginning of the eleventh century, but for less than a decade. Only in the beginning of the twelfth century did Georgian King David the Builder (1089–1125) incorporate Kakheti into his Kingdom successfully.

Kakheti (Georgianკახეთი K’akheti[kʼɑχɛtʰi]) is a region (mkhare) formed in the 1990s in eastern Georgia from the historical province of Kakheti and the small, mountainous province of TushetiTelavi is its capital. The region comprises eight administrative districts: TelaviGurjaaniQvareliSagarejoDedoplistsqaroSignagiLagodekhi and Akhmeta. Kakheti is bordered by the Russian Federation with the adjacent subdivisions (Chechnya to the north, and Dagestan to the northeast), the country of Azerbaijan to the southeast, and with the regions of Mtskheta-Mtianeti and Kvemo Kartli to the west. Kakheti has a strong linguistic and cultural identity, since its ethnographic subgroup of Kakhetians speak the Kakhetian dialect of Georgian.

The Georgian David Gareja monastery complex is partially located in this province and is subject to a border dispute between Georgian and Azerbaijani authorities.[2] Popular tourist attractions in Kakheti include Tusheti, Gremi, Signagi, Kvetera, Bodbe, Lagodekhi Protected Areas and Alaverdi Monastery. The region produces wines in micro-regions of Telavi and Kvareli.

Bodbe Monastery

Sighnaghi - A City Of Love

Telavi CIty

Wine Cellars in Kakheti Region

Alazani Valley and Caucasus Mountains